Thursday, December 22, 2011

Christmas came early

Oaths administered

Judge Timothy K. Sanner swore in newly elected officials during an investiture held in the venerable Goochland Circuit Court on December 22, 2011. This was an early Christmas present for those who thought they would not live to see widespread change in Goochland County government.

Clerk of the Court Lee Turner said she could not recall a time that the courtroom had been filled to capacity.

“This is a ceremonial and joyous occasion,” Sanner said in brief opening remarks before administering the oath of office to each official, whose terms begin on January 1, 2012.

Although applause followed each oath, there was an underlying acknowledgement of the gravity of the words spoken by those entrusted by the citizens to run local government for the next four years.

Our new supervisors are: Susan Lascollete District 1; Manuel Alvarez, Jr., District 2; Ned Creasey District 3; R.H. “Bob” Minnick District 4 and Ken Petersen District 5.

Our new school board members are: Michael Payne District 1; W. Kevin Hazzard District 2; John Lumpkins District 3; E.A. “Beth” Hardy District 4 and John Wright District 5.

Constitutional officers are: Pamela Cooke Johnson, Treasurer; Claiborne H. Stokes, Jr. Commonwealth’s Attorney; Jeanne S. Bryant Commissioner of the Revenue and James L. Agnew, Sheriff.
Goochland Treasurer Pamela Cooke Johnson

Monacan Soil and Water District Commissioners Jonathan Lyle and Ronald Nuckols were sworn in as were deputies of Constitutional Officers.

Although the new supervisors and school board members do not take office for another week or so, they have been hard at work preparing for their new roles.

Supervisors left to right:Petersen, Alvarez,Lascollette,Creasey and Minnick.

School board left to right:Payne,Hazzard, Hardy, Lumpkins, Wright.

Congratulations to all of our new officials. Thank you for your commitment to public service.

No comments: